A Village Remembered: The Armenians of Habousi - The Compatriotic Union of Habousi


Since 1985, the membership of the Compatriotic Union of Habousi has been increasing and so has the desire from new members to learn more about our past. What better way to memorialize our culture then to make the voices of our ancestors accessible to current and future generations. We are grateful to the Compatriotic Union of Habousi for their decision to move forward with the translation and for their on-going support and confidence in this endeavor.

An invaluable depth of gratitude to Miriam (Mary) Kochakian, whose initial research peaked our curiosity to move forward with this project. Many a Habousetzie meeting included Miriam sharing some new information she had uncovered from the original manuscript. Miriam was also responsible for locating our editor, Dr. Vatche Ghazarian, introduced to her by Manoug Young, Chairman of the National Association for Armenian Studies and Research (NAASR).

We so appreciate our editor, Dr. Vatche Ghazarian, for his willingness to share his talent and skills with our organization. Vatche’s translation of the original manuscript from Armenian into English was remarkable, particularly when it became clear that the original manuscript had truly been a collaborative effort; hence many phrases and descriptions were challenging Equally challenging was serving as facilitator of the Book Committee meetings, a small yet enthusiastic group. Vatche was very patient in insuring that we remained focused on the task at hand. Vatche’s depth of knowledge of Armenian culture is impressive, and with great admiration we appreciate the ease with which he answered our questions as we learned more about our past.

A word of gratitude must be extended to Dr. Barbara Merguerian of NAASR for her valuable editorial contribution.

We are forever grateful to Book Committee Members: Agnes Manoogian David, James Kachadorian, and Henry Manoogian. Their willingness to review manuscripts and provide critical feedback was invaluable. The English translation of this manuscript would not have come to fruition had Agnes, Jim, and Henry not been willing to invest so much time and commitment to see this project through its completion.

Thank you also to Habousetzie members: Elaine Kachadorian, Lea Kachadorian, Holly Manoogian, MaryAnn Manoogian, and Georgiana and Jerry White for their input and enthusiasm throughout this endeavor. And thank you to Marion Manoogian for insuring that the Book Committee was well-nourished during our meetings.

Finally, we would like to extend our gratitude to past and present members of The Compatriotic Union of Habousi: to past members who had the foresight to document our history and culture for future generations; to current members whose pride in their culture will insure that the history and traditions of Habousi will continue to be shared with future generations.

Compatriotic Union of Habousi